Participating Sites by Geography


Canada

 

ALBERTA

 

Calgary

 

Overall Program: Campus Calgary/Open Minds

Website: ccom.cbe.ab.ca

 

Education Coordinators:

Travis Robertson – Calgary Board of Education

Phone: 403-817-7583

Email: tjrobertson@cbe.ab.ca

 

Jennifer Meredith – Calgary Board of Education

Office Phone: 403-817- 5108

Email: jlmeredith@cbe.ab.ca

 

Ita Kistorma CSSD Consultant

Calgary Catholic School District

Phone: 403-615-8376

Email: ita.kistorma@cssd.ab.ca

 

 

Chevron Open Minds Sites

Website: chevronopenminds.ca

 

Zoo School – Calgary Zoo

Coordinator: Andrea Beaty

Office Phone: 403-232-9393

Personal Cell: 403-200-8459

Email: andreab@calgaryzoo.com

 

Glenbow Museum School – Glenbow Museum

(History/Art)                                                                 

Coordinator: Marnie McCormack

Office Phone: 403-268-4112

Email: mmccormack@glenbow.org

Website: museumschool.glenbow.org

 

Science Centre School – TELUS Spark

(Science)

Coordinator: Donna Kipta

Office Phone: 403-817-6846

Work Cell: 403-861-5413

Email: donna.kipta@sparkscience.ca

 

 

Campus Calgary Sites

 

Democracy School – Manning Foundation

(Government, History)

Coordinator: Mary-Ann Quist

Email: mary-ann.quist@manningcentre.ca

Website: democracyschool.ca

 

Jube School – Southern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium

(Performing Arts)

Coordinator: Karen Youngberg

Email:karen.youngberg@gov.ab.ca

 

Cross Conservation School – Cross Conservation Area

(Nature)

Coordinator: Maureen Luchsinger

Phone: 403-931-2042

Email: mluchsinger@crossconservation.org

 

University School – University of Calgary

Coordinator: Claire Waters

Phone: 403-220-2615

Email: cwaters@ucalgary.ca

 

City Hall School – Municipal Building

(Government)

Coordinator: Sheila Bean

Office Phone: 403-268- 3270

Email: sheila.bean@calgary.ca

 

Stampede School – Stampede Park

(History)

Coordinator: Bev Copithorne

Office Phone: 403-261- 0490

Email: bcopithorne@calgarystampede.com

 

Aero Space School – Aero Space Museum

(Science)

Coordinator: Victoria Smyth

Cell: 403-250-3752  ext 107

Email: volunteer@asmac.ab.ca

 

Healthy Living School – Vivo for Healthier Generations

(Sports)

Coordinator: Sara Anderson

Office Phone: 403-805-7114

Email: saanderson@vivo.ca

Website: www.vivo.ca/Pages/RaiseTheBarHealthyLivingSchool.asp

 

2School – CBE Ed Centre

Coordinator: Trish Hubbard

Office Phone: 403-817-7247

Cell: 403-472-4315

Email: tbhubbard@cbe.ab.ca

 

The Hub for Inspired Learning – Arts Commons School

(Performing Arts)

Coordinator: John Anderson

Phone: 403-294-7455

Email: janderson@artscommons.ca

 


Edmonton

 

Overall Program: Inquiring Minds
Website: ourinquiringminds.wordpress.com

 

Active Living School

(Sports)

Coordinator: Philip MacMahon

Phone: 780-944-1381

Email: philip.macmahon@edmonton.ca

 

City Hall School – Edmonton City Hall

Coordinator: Linda Hut

Phone: 780 944.7826

Email: Linda.hut@edmonton.ca

 

Edmonton Oilers ICE School

(Sports)

Coordinator: Diane Gurnham

Phone: 780-471-8123 Fax: 780- 471-7293

Website: edmontonoilers.com/iceschool

Email: dgurnham@edmontonoilers.com

 

EJ (Edmonton Journal) School

(Media)

Sandy VanRiper

Phone: 780- 996-4423  Fax: 780-469-2747

Email: sandyvanriper@gmail.com

 

Farm School – Multicultural Heritage Centre

Coordinator: Kathie Crosby

Phone: 780-963-2777

Email: kathie@multicentre.org

 

Fort School – Fort Edmonton Park

(History)

Coordinator: Heather Polasek

Phone: 780-944-5493

Email: heather.polasek@edmonton.ca

 

Green School – Devonian Botanical Garden

(Nature)

Coordinator: Deb Greiner

Phone: 780-987-3054 ext: 2228  Fax: 780-987-4141

Email: dbggreen@ualberta.ca

 

Northern Alberta Jubilee School – Jubilee Auditorium

(Performing Arts) 

Coordinator: Tarryn Koll

Phone: 780-427-6719 Fax: 780-422-3750

Email: tarryn.koll@gov.ab.ca

 

Royal Alberta Museum School

Coordinator: Tara Beck

Phone: 780-453-9116 Fax: 780-453-9165

Email: tara.beck@gov.ab.ca

 

School at the Legislature – Alberta Legislature

(Government)

Coordinator: Brooke Stuckey

Phone: 780-427-7362

Email: brooke.stuckey@assembly.ab.ca

 

Science School@TWOSE – Telus World of Science

(Science)

Coordinator: Ashley Settingiano

Phone: 780 452 9100 ext 2294

Email: asettingiano@twose.ca

 

Sound School – Frances Winspear Centre for Music

(Performing Arts)

Coordinator: Alyssa Paterson

Phone: 780-401-2531

Email: apaterson@winspearcentre.com

 

U School – University of Alberta

Coordinator: Mary Pinkoski

Phone: 780-492-0003

Email: pinkoski@ualberta.ca

  

Zoo School – Edmonton Valley Zoo

(Zoo)

Coordinator: Courtney van Roijen

Phone: 780-496-6929  Fax: 780-944-7529

Email: courtney.vanroijen@edmonton.ca

 

 

Fort McMurray

 

Chevron Open Minds

Heritage Park School – Heritage Park

(History)

Coordinator: Tammy Plowman

Phone: 780-791-7575  ext224

Email: programs@fortmcmurrayhistory.com

 

 

Jasper

 

Jasper Habitat for the Arts School

(Jasper Community Habitat for the Arts)

Contact: Marianne Garrah

Phone: 780 852 0359

Email: dtminc@shaw.ca

 

 

Medicine Hat

 

Medalta Community Classroom – Medalta in the Historic Clay District

(History/Art)

Coordinator: Carolyn Freeman

Phone: 403-529-1070

Email: Carolyn@medalta.org

 

 

 

BRITISH COLUMBIA

 

North Vancouver

 

Presentation House Gallery

(Art/History)

Director/Curator: Reid Shier

Phone: 778-996-1820

 

Gibsons

 

Museum School – Sunshine Coast Museum

(History)

Coordinator: Matthew Lovegrove

Phone: 604-886-8232

Email: scma_manager@dccnet.com

 

Pender Harbour

 

Nature School – Iris Griffith Centre

(Nature)

Coordinator:  Leigh Ann Worth

Phone: 604-883-9201

Website: lagoonsociety.com/education/nature-school

 

 

ONTARIO

 

London ON

 

Overall Program: London Museum School

Coordinator: Catherine McInnes

London Heritage Council

Email: cmcinnes@london.ca

Website: londonculture.ca

 

Sites:

 

The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame School

(History/Science)

Website: www.cdnmedhall.org

 

Fanshawe Pioneer Village School

(History)

Website: www.fanshawepioneervillage.ca

 

London Regional Children’s Museum School

(Science/Art)

Website: www.londonchildrensmuseum.ca

 

Museum London School

(History/Art)

Website: www.museumlondon.ca

 

Museum of Ontario Archaeology School

(History/Science)

Website: www.uwo.ca/museum

 

Jet Aircraft Museum

(Flight)

Website: londonculture.ca

 

Royal Canadian Regiment

(History)

Website: londonculture.ca

 

Eldon House

(History)

Website: londonculture.ca

 

 

Ottawa ON

 

Museoparc Vanier Museopark

(History/Natural History)

Contact: Janik Aubin-Robert

Phone: 613-842-9871

Website: museoparc.ca

 

Osgoode Township Historical Museum

(History)

Phone: 613-821-4062

Website: osgoodemuseum.ca

 

 

Kingston ON

 

Overall Program: Beyond Classrooms – Kingston

Website: beyondclassrooms.ca

 

Contact: Ann Blake

Email: Eann.blake@gmail.com

Coordinator: Karla Tynski

Phone: 613-484-1874

 

 

Sites:

 

Agnes Etherington Art Centre

(Art)

Queen’s University

 

Bellevue House

(History)

 

Kingston City Hall

(History/Government)

 

Frontenac County Schools Museum

(History)

 

Marine Museum of the Great Lakes

(History/Science)

 

Military Communications and Electronics Museum

(History/Science)

 

Miller Museum of Geology

Queen’s University

(Science)

 

Museum of Health Care

Queen’s University

(History/Science)

 

 

NEWFOUNDLAND

 

St. John’s

 

Chevron Open Minds at The Rooms

The Rooms – Provincial Museum and Art Gallery

(History/Art)

Coordinator: Stephanie Rowe-Slaney

Phone: 709-757-8069

Email: stephanieroweslaney@therooms.ca

 

 

USA

 

CALIFORNIA

 

Los Angeles

 

Classroom in Residence at the Hammer

Hammer Museum

(Art Museum)

Coordinator: Theresa Sotto

Assistant Director, Academic Programs

Phone: 310.443.7047

Email: tsotto@hammer.ucla.edu

Website: www.hammer.ucla.edu

 

 

MICHIGAN

 

Overall Program: The Big Lesson

Website: biglesson.org

 

Annie’s BIG Nature Lesson (Lansing)

(Nature)

Contact: Margaret Holtschlag

Phone: 517-230-8268

Email: biglesson@gmail.com

 

BIG History Lesson – Meridian Historic Village-Okemos

(History)

Contact: Margaret Holtschlag

Phone: 517-230-8268

Email: biglesson@gmail.com

 

Annie’s BIG Nature Lesson – Kalamazoo

(Nature)

Coordinator: Jenn Wright

Phone: 269-381-1574

Email: JWright@naturecenter.org

 

BIG History Lesson – Michigan Historical Museum, Lansing

(History)

Coordinator: Laurie Catherine Perkins

Phone: 517-241-0731

Email: PerkinsL1@michigan.gov

 

BIG Science Lesson at Impression 5 Museum (Lansing)

(Science)

Coordinator: Micaela Balzer

phone: 517-485-8116, ext. 44

 

BIG Zoo Lesson at Potter Park Zoo (Lansing)

Contact: Margaret Holtschlag

Phone: 517-230-8268

Email: biglesson@gmail.com

 

BIG Zoo Lesson at Binder Park Zoo (Battle Creek MI)

Contact: Margaret Holtschlag,

Phone: 517-230-8268

Email: biglesson@gmail.com

 

 

Singapore

 

Open Minds at the Canadian International School

(Zoo/History/Nature)

Website: cis.edu.sg